Submit Story – 2021 Commonwealth Short Story Prize

Commonwealth Short Story Prize 2021

Deadline: November 1 2020

Submit Story – 2021 Commonwealth Short Story Prize

OPPORTUNITIES FOR COMMONWEALTH COUNTRIES – The Commonwealth Short Story Prize is awarded for the best piece of unpublished short fiction (2,000–5,000 words). Regional winners each receive £2,500 and the opportunity to be published online by Granta magazine, and the overall winner receives £5,000. As well as English, stories are accepted in the Bengali, Chinese, French, Greek, Kiswahili, Malay, Portuguese, Samoan, Tamil and Turkish languages. Translated entries from any language into English are also eligible. If the winning story is a translation, the translator receives additional prize money.

The competition is free to enter and open to any citizen of a Commonwealth country who is aged 18 and over.

The 2021 Commonwealth Short Story Prize is open for online entries until 1 November 2020.

Commonwealth Short Story Prize:

  • Each regional winner receives £2,500, and their story is published online on Granta, the magazine of new writing. One of the regional winners is then selected as the overall winner, who receives £5,000 – one of the highest amounts for an international prize for unpublished short stories.

Eligibility 2021 Commonwealth Short Story Prize

a. Entrants must be citizens of a Commonwealth country – please see Section 5 for the list of Commonwealth countries – or stateless persons currently residing in a Commonwealth country.
The Commonwealth Foundation will request verification of citizenship status before winners
are selected. Entries from citizens of non-Commonwealth countries are not eligible.
b. For regional purposes, entries will be judged by country of citizenship. Where the writer has dual citizenship (of two Commonwealth countries), the entry will be judged in the region where the writer is permanently resident.
c. There is no requirement for the writer to have current residence in a Commonwealth country, providing that they are a citizen of a Commonwealth country.
d. Entrants must be aged 18 years or over on 1 November 2020.
e. All entries will be accepted at the discretion of the Commonwealth Foundation which will
exercise its judgement, in consultation with the prize chair, in ruling on questions of
eligibility. The ruling of the chair on questions of eligibility is final, and no further
correspondence will be entered into.
f. Entries from previous overall winners of the Commonwealth Short Story Prize are not eligible.
Entries from previous regional winners are eligible.
g. Entries from current members of staff at the Commonwealth Foundation are not eligible.
h. Entries must be unpublished and remain unpublished in any language until 1 May 2021.

Entry rules

a. Entries, including those in translation, must be made by the original author.
b. Entries will only be accepted via the online entry form.
c. The deadline for receipt of entries is 1 November 2020 (11.59 pm in any time zone).
d. Only one entry per writer may be submitted for the Commonwealth Short Story Prize.
e. The story must be the entrant’s own work.
f. The story must be original work and should not have been published anywhere, in full or in part, in any language, before 1 May 2021. Published work is taken to mean published in any printed, publicly accessible form, e.g. anthology, magazine, newspaper. It is also taken to mean published online, with the exception of personal blogs and personal websites.
g. Entries previously submitted to the Commonwealth Short Story Prize are not eligible.


For more Information: Visit the webpage for Commonwealth Short Story 2021