HomeNSFAS NEWSList of Institutions To Form Part of NSFAS Pilot Project in 2024

List of Institutions To Form Part of NSFAS Pilot Project in 2024


List of Institutions To Form Part of NSFAS Pilot Project in 2024 – The National Student Financial Aid Scheme (NSFAS), led by the Board Chairperson, Mr Ernest Khosa, held successful engagements with the management of the Vaal University of Technology, Tshwane University of Technology and Sedibeng TVET College. These institutions are part of the NSFAS Student Accommodation Pilot Project in 2024.

The meetings were held on the 6th and 7th December 2023 and will continue next week at the Tshwane North and Tshwane South TVET Colleges. The engagements form part of the NSFAS preparations for the 2024 academic year.

In its meeting on the 4th December 2023, the NSFAS Board decided to onboard an additional nineteen (19) TVET Colleges on top of three (3) that were part of the Private Accommodation Providers accreditation test pilot in 2023.

This bringing the total number to twenty-two (22) TVET Colleges and seventeen (17) Universities for the 2024 pilot project.

NSFAS will take over the accreditation of Private Accommodation Providers as well as the accommodation of NSFAS-funded students.

“We held frank and cordial engagements with these selected institutions and are looking forward to equally progressive meetings with the other identified institutions, including stakeholders within the post school education and training sector,” said the NSFAS Board Chairperson.

These consultations will be followed by the NSFAS and the institutional technical teams meetings to finalise all operational matters.

To this effect, NSFAS has appointed four (4) Solution Partners to conduct accreditation of properties that applied for accreditation on the NSFAS accommodation platform.
NSFAS has communicated the directive by the Minister of Higher Education, Science, and Innovation, Prof. Blade Nzimande, that all institutions should not enter into long-term lease agreements with private accommodation providers in order to enable the NSFAS accommodation processes to proceed without further delays.

NSFAS remains grateful to the councils and management of all the institutions for their swift response and prioritisation of the accreditation of private accommodation providers.
The NSFAS Board calls upon all Private Accommodation Providers to apply for accreditation in order for them to be able to offer student accommodation for NSFAS beneficiaries.

Herein is the list of institutions that will form part of the NSFAS pilot project in 2024:


  • Port Elizabeth TVET College
  • East Cape Midlands TVET College
  • Buffalo City TVET College
  • King Sabatha Dalindyebo TVET College
  • King Hintsa TVET College
  • Motheo TVET College
  • Central Johannesburg College
  • Ekurhuleni East TVET College
  • Ekurhuleni West TVET College
  • Tshwane South TVET Colleg
  • Tshwane North TVET College
  • Sedibeng TVET College
  • Thekwini TVET College
  • Coastal TVET College
  • Majuba TVET College Umfolozi TVET College
  • Mopani TVET College
  • Vhembe TVET College
  • Letaba TVET College
  • Gert Sibande TVET College
  • Ehlanzeni TVET College
  • Northlink TVET College


  • University of Fort Hare
  • Walter Sisulu University
  • Nelson Mandela University
  • Central University of Technology
  • Tshwane University of Technology
  • Vaal University of Technology
  • University of Pretoria
  • University of Johannesburg
  • University of Zululand
  • Durban University of Technology
  • Mangosuthu University of Technology
  • University of KwaZulu Natal
  • University of Limpopo
  • Mpumalanga University
  • Sol Plaatje University
  • University of Western Cape
  • Cape Peninsula University of Technology
Israel Wellington Jeremiah
Israel Wellington Jeremiah
I work to provide access to global experiences to all through educational opportunities like scholarships, training and conferences, fellowships, grants and awards, jobs, internships , learnerships and volunteer programs.